9 Comments
May 2, 2022Liked by Robert Simonson

It’s hard to beat a martini at Bemelmen’s, despite the cost. My nostalgic side thinks of all the great cocktails I enjoyed at Brooklyn Social on cold wintry nights when I lived around the corner 12+ years ago. Their spin on the Manhattan was a favorite.

Expand full comment
founding
May 2, 2022Liked by Robert Simonson

I'm not from New York, so I'm just a tourist. There are only a couple of place where I find myself ordering the classics - for me a Martini or Manhattan (can't say I've ever had a Negroni in NYC). I tend to order old school cocktails in old school bars -- The Campbell (Apartment) is a favorite as is The Old King Cole Bar. The Metropolitan Club bar is also very good (when I am invited in).

Expand full comment
founding
May 2, 2022Liked by Robert Simonson

Employees Only makes a really great Manhattan using Grand Marnier

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Robert Simonson

Martini - Rhouls, beefeater or tanqueray. Negroni - Dante in the village. Penecillin - attaboy. Vesper or Martinez - Bouvette. Margarita - barrio chino.

Expand full comment